The Registerfly Debacle Continues
Friday, 22 February 2008

Tucows supporting Regfly.com Kevin Medina and Robert OneillUpdates On Regfly.com

Ok, couple days ago we reported the first Registerfly update since August.  That day I called Tucows and spoke with a Sheila, (in sales) and was told that they are working with Kevin Medina and Robert Oneill to get them back on their feet.  She said that David Woroch of Tucows had been down to Miami and paid these two a visit and are working with them once again.  I've sent a letter to David Woroch asking for information and nothing has been returned.  People seemed to be confused, with what Regfly is saying and what's really going.

Information on AboutUs.org

What they neglect to tell us the reader is that

RegFly has been rebranded from RegisterFly.com Registerfly.com, was formerly owned by mass domain thief Kevin Medina 10000s of domains went missing from registerfly.com and loads of court actions were initiated. Icann finally took away registerfly's Icann accreditation and made registerfly show a logo saying so on their old site. Many believe that Kevin Medina is involved in the rebranded regfly.com

Regfly.com wrote:

Company Information RegFly.com is a provider of internet services which includes domain name registration, web site hosting, email hosting, ssl security certicates and a host of additional products and services. We provide 24/7 Support via a variety of methods which includes, email, ticket system and Live Chat. Although we started out in 2000 as one of the first companies to offer low cost domain registrations, our product lines has grown substantially larger. Whether you are just getting started out on the web or you are an experienced webmaster looking for a complete solution, RegFly.com is for you.

Tucows and Regfly.com 

3DA0001SwingingBoy150.gif

Now, some people have believed that Kevin Medina and Robert Oneill are the same person.  According to my conversation with Tucows, they verified that both Robert Oneill and Kevin Medina are not the same person and they are working together out of the Miami office and have re-branded as Regfly.  When I asked Sheila at Tucows to give me more information, she was hesitant and told me to send an email to Dave Woroch who is working directly with Kevin and has in fact visited with the both of them in Miami.  I sent and email asking a few simple questions and have not heard a response back as of yet.

Let's take a moment to step back in time now.  Remember that Registerfly was a Tucows reseller as well as an Enom reseller during the implosion in Feb 2007.  Tucows held a great number of domain names and private registrations for Registerfly.

Houston we have a problem

Tucows is supporting the new and improved Regfly.com?  David Woroch has some sort of agreement with Kevin and as Sheila stated, "helping them get back on their feet".  Interestingly enough, on Elliot Noss', (President and CEO) profile on Tucows states the following:

He champions areas of vital interest to the Internet community including; privacy, ICANN reform and registrar matters, the implications of emerging technologies, and the emergence of small and medium-sized ISPs and web hosting companies as the unrecognized backbone of the Internet economy.

ICANN reform and registrar matters?  If Tucows is back in bed with Registerfly and Kevin Medina, we have a right to an explanation.   We have known  leader in the industry, Tucows, now supporting the efforts of one of the biggest domain scandalls in the history of the internet.

A message to Tucows

If your company is in fact supporting Kevin Medina and Robert Oneill who are still lying to their customers, we'd like an explanantion.  Many people lost their business and livelyhood due to the negligence of this company and they deserve some answers.  Any communication regarding your relationship with Registerfly and Kevin Medina will be transparent.  We're tired of the crap that seems to be delivered to the Registrants of Domain Names through unethical business practices with domain  names and from the outside looking in, Tucows seems to be supporting this.  I look forward to posting a public explanation!

This is what Bob of Regfly.com states: 

i bought the company from kevin in aug, well just the site, as well as 2 other investors in hopes of rebuilding the brand kevin has had nothing to do with this company since july of 07

Additional Resources on Regfly.com:

URL AcademyRegisterfly WikiPedia | RickyMills.com Blog | NamePros Discussion 

 

Comments
Add NewSearchRSS
george8 - Does anyone knows about Fedhol Registered | 2008-12-26 09:28:51
Hello,
Two years ago when the big registerfly.com scandal was presented here in this site, i moved all my domains to another enom reseller,
fedholm at fedholm dot com.
I never had any problem there but now i have read about "rebranding" registerfly, i noticed that fedholm uses the same "The Single Source for all of your Internet Presence Needs" title.I hope they are not related with regfly because i have more than 20 domains there(never had any problem as it is backed 100% by enom)
does anyone knows something about them?
gibb0901 - New confusion? Registered | 2009-02-03 14:13:26
Hi All,

This is my first post, but I wanted to just get some opinions if anyone is around...

Because I had a positive balance at RegFly.com, I decided to try to register a new domain name on January 22nd. All seemed to be going well, and the domain name appeared in my Manage Domains tab in my account. From there, I was able to set up DNS information and point it to my web host. I thought life was good. Then, on January 27th, the domain disappeared from my list of managable domains. I contacted support, and, of course, they were useless. So, on February 2nd, I went through the process again (since I had been credited back the money) rather than try to sort it out with support.

Today (February 3rd) I recieved 3 emails from a company called repossess.net telling me I had set up an account with them:

-----------------------------------------------
from: support@repossess.net
reply-to: support@repossess.net

to: gibb0901@********.***

date: Tue, Feb 3, 2009 at 6:59 AM
subject: Repossess.net New Account Notice


REPOSSESS.NET Welcome Notice
===============================

Ryan

We are excited about you joining the growing Repossess.net family of customers. Below is the
information you will need to login to your account.

USER INFORMATION
================
User Name:******
Password: ******

http://repossess.net/clients/login.php?frmView=login

Please remember to signup for our closeout notification list to ensure you are kept abreast of the
latest special offers and promotions.

You can reach our customer service team by using the messaging center of your account
http://www.repossess.net/messaging/

Your trusted partner at www.repossess.net
-----------------------------------------------

Thing is, I've never heard of this company. So I tried to search google to see if this was a scam or something, but it appears to a a real company (legitimate or not, I do not know...). So, I went to it and logged in to my supposed account (which, interestingly, was all the same information as my RegFly.com account). And, to my supprise, it showed that I had registered the domain with them (it appeared in my Domain Management tab). So, now it shows that I have the domain registered in my RegFly account AND my knew and un-asked-for repossess.net account.

What's the deal? Any thoughts? Thanks!
--Ryan
Only registered users can write comments!